Time machine

Yesterday, I made some decent progress on the Chai Boy project. I got the mortises cut out and got the legs roughly cut out, and made the rails for the front and back.

Now on to the good stuff. If I could go back in time, I’d like to shake the hand of the man who invented the “Hollow Chisel Mortise Machine.” (then I’d take a quick side trip and sock the guy who invented the tie)  The purpose of this machine is to cut square holes. If you put a number of these square holes together, viola, you get a mortise!

 

Yaakov using the Hollow Chisel Mortise Machine

 

For the record, this photo makes me look fat! I’m not trying to girlish or anything, but I swear it is a baggy shirt.

 

Close up of the machine at work

 

So why do I like this machine so much? Along time ago, you would use a hand drill and a chisel to cut out the mortises. Today, most home woodworkers have advanced to a power drill and a chisel. And for those of us who make a lot of mortises and are ready to shell out the money, we get the Hollow Chisel Mortise Machine. As the name implies, the hollow chisel is literally a hollow square tube that has been sharpened like a chisel at the bottom of all four sides. Inside the tube is a drill bit which removes the material while the chisel tube squares up the sides. Anyone who enjoys making Arts & Crafts furniture, would be lost without one of these machines. It is not a tool I use everyday, but every time I use it, I am very thankful I have it.

 

The initial shaping of the legs

 

The legs are taking shape, literally! I need to smooth out the bandsaw marks and round over the edges, then I can start fitting the sides and rails.

The march of progress continues

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

