The seat of my pants

I did not get as much done on the Chai boy on this past Sunday as I would have liked. The Sukkah needed to be put away and the lawn needed to be mowed, but mainly, it was a matter of design. Since I don’t have all the plans completed, I tend to stand there staring, trying to figure out what I should do next.

Normally, when I am making a custom piece, I draw out all the plans before I start construction. With this piece, I am flying by the seat of my pants. I almost made the mistake of shaping the legs before I put in the dado’s and mortises. This would have been a serious mistake. Not having a squared leg to work with would have made dadoing very difficult. This is the danger of the designing by the seat of your pants.  So why am I doing this? Why do they climb Everest or race fast cars? Because it is a thrill! No, not really. I honestly don’t know exactly why I am doing this. Since these is my piece, I want to take my time and see what inspiration hits me as I moving along.

I’m the type of guy who puts things on a “To-do” list, then gets nervous when the item doesn’t get crossed off. I guess the same applies to my plans. Once they are on paper, I am hesitant to make changes, and I’m apt to make a mistake if I start second guessing myself. Of course I’ll obviously fix errors in plans. I am not that OCD. (man oh man, Judge Whoppner comes on in 6.5 minutes, I gotta finish this….)

Quick summary; the legs have been squared up and the dados have been cut for the sides. The boards for the maple sides have been cut and glued up.  Next, I want to get the rest of the mortises cut, then I can shape the legs.

 

Maple sides glued up and clamped

 

On a quick note, even though the Home Depot near my shop (and has the worst service anywhere), every once in a while, they have birds-eye, or quilted maple mixed in with their regular stock. They obviously have no idea what they have, maple is maple is maple. Last time they did this, I bought up every straight birds-eye maple board they had. You can’t beat $3.xx a board foot in lieu of $9+ at the other lumber providers! So, I was lucky enough to find some more birds-eye that was not highly figured. It is figured enough not be plain, but not so figured that it will out figure the birds-eye that I will be using for the drawer fronts.

Onward and upward!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

