The “Plane” in spain, errr well….

The final glue up for the top is complete. After the initial glue up, I was left with two 6 x 22 x 1.5 boards. For the final glue up of the top, I used my biscuit jointer (mmmmmmmm biscuits, head hangs back with tongue out) to put the two boards together. This simple act brings up two good topics.

First, I received a Porter Cable Biscuit Jointer, mmmmmmmm biscuits, as a wedding gift from one of my groomsmen. I want to say right here and now, aside from the gift of being married to a wonderful women, receiving that biscuit jointer, mmmmmmmm biscuits, was the best wedding present a man could ever receive. I will always have a place in my heart for Raul for giving that to me. Next time you get invited to a wedding, the gift of a biscuit jointer, mmmmmmm etc….., will certainly put you on a pedestal by the groom. If women can have a wedding shower, why can’t men have a special man gift shower? Aren’t we part of the process too? At this point, I will shut-up and return to my place.

Second topic. (this one is technical) Yesterday, I spoke about how well my jointer plane worked, ooooooooooooohhh joints. After the initial glue up, I needed to square up a side so it could be glued up to the other board. Anyone who uses a plane will notice, that generally, you will find the plane works best when planing from one specific direction because of the grain pattern. This is called, “reading the grain”. (Standing up). Hello, my name is Yaakov, and I can’t read,,,,,,, grain that is. Frankly, I just don’t know what I should be reading. Guess I need to find someone who can show me in person. Well, as it turns out, I had glued up both planks in opposite planing directions, which made for a more difficult squaring job.

 

The Top glued up and clamped

 

The legs started taking shape as well. As I have said before, this is a spec job, so I am doing my best to save money, and I kinda had to cut a small corner in making the legs. A couple of years ago, I bought a large walnut plank about 1.5″ thick, and I have been saving it for a long time trying to decide what to do with it. (kinda like a special bottle of wine) In my little mind, I decided I would use that plank for the legs of the Chai Boy. And you guessed it, “missed by that much”, being wide enough to provide the lumber for all four legs. Just my luck, RATS! So, I ended up glueing up two other boards to use for the fourth leg. The legs have odd shapes,  so I think I can disguise it enough for it to blend in. I am more worried about the color blend with the other three legs. Which brings up another topic.

 

My trusty Record plane. Thanks Dad! Jest looka dem shavin's

 

I am seriously thinking about using a dark walnut dye on all the walnut pieces to achieve a more uniform color. I have done this before and it worked well. As construction begins, I guess I’ll have to see how it all looks together. In the meantime, I gotta get working on the rest of the plans before I get ahead of myself.

Stay tuned, same blog channel, same blog time (well, not really)

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Chai Boy Journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The “Plane” in spain, errr well….

  1. paloarte says:

    YES, we, men, need the the wedding shower too! 😀 *hint* *hint* I’d like to get some more tools in my shop; like the Agazzani band saw; a scoring table saw; edge sander…(I think I’m asking too much already :))

    Yaakov, in regards to reading grains, in one of my prose poetry writing about wood carving I’ve said that wood will not refuse the chisel cuts if I talk to her right. So, when I turn my chisel from the wrong side, she will chip off, that is how I find the right side; turning my chisel to the other side.

    If you’ve got some excessive boards, try to leave some of it for sacrifice. I always leave less than a half an inch edge before the final-final-fine cut.

    In regards to the plans; drawings; try using Google SketchUp. It saves some trees 🙂 and give you and yours 3D vision of the Chai Boy.

  2. yaakov says:

    Glad someone out there agrees with me about the men’s tool shower!

    About using Google SketchUp; I have used it for some basic things, but it boils down to the fact that I enjoy drawing. I make an honest effort to draw everyday (except for shabbos). I have a special notebook that contains my “FbY” plans, and I think it would break my heart to leave it behind. There’s something special about drawing plans in that book which makes it deeply personal.

    Do you use Sketchup often?

    Thanks for writing!

    yaakov…..

  3. paloarte says:

    Well, I admire people who draw—my father is an architect and I just can’t make that straight line with pencil like he does!

    So, I use sketchup—like a master in sketchup!

    Shoot me up with anything you need in regards to sketchup.

    Shabad Shalom

    Jake

  4. yaakov says:

    Jake,

    I just might take you up on that sketchup offer. It is something that I really should learn. Where do you suggest I start?

    yaakov….

  5. Jake says:

    There are couple of basic steps that you need to take (in my opinion) with SketchUp drawings.

    Use of the

    Rectangular Tool; to create boards,
    Measuring Tape; to prepare the final cutout of your boards,
    Line and Arch Tool; to select the cutouts based on your measurements,
    Push-Pull Tool; to cut the excess parts of the board out.

    Here is an example of how it works:

  6. yaakov says:

    Jake,

    Thanks for the YouTube video link. I watched the video. That lady certainly makes it look easy. When I get a break at work, I think I will follow along as she suggests. Thanks for the tip!

    Be well,

    yaakov….

Leave a Reply

