Back to zero

It’s been eight days, and now I am finally back to zero. Well,,,,, maybe I’m up by one.

Last Sunday I started working on a new stand for my lathe. And as my readers know, it did not workout so well. The plans were a bit screwy, and the hefty stand was a full ten inches too high. It took me a number of days to figure out how to correct the problem, and thankfully my solution worked. My Nova Lathe is now mounted on the stand, and the height is dead on perfect. Today’s fix only cost me three hours of work and a sore back. That lathe is really heavy and it did a real job on my lower back, but thank HaShem (G_d) it is done.

So what is next for the lathe? Tomorrow I plan to start a spindle reproduction. I was given a fancy turned post that holds up a mirror and was asked to create a new one  since the other one was lost or broken.  To be honest, I am not the best spindle turner that walked this green earth, and I know I could give it to Mark Supik and he could duplicate it in no time flat, but I was feeling froggy and felt like I need this challenge to improve my skills.

I was told by a well-known turner, Jimmy Clewes, that in Europe people learn to spindle turn first, then start bowl turning. Typical me, I started the process backwards. I did get private instruction from Mark Supik for spindle turning, so I at least know what I am supposed to do. But as we all know, there is a big difference in knowing what you are supposed to do, as opposed to making your body do it.  We’ll just have to see what happens and hope for the best! 

Now I know you might be asking yourself, “what is spindle turning?” Spindle turning, or turning between centers, is a woodturning method referring to a piece of wood on a wood lathe that is being turned on its center axis. Spindle turning is the method used for items such as chair and table legs, lamps, cues, bats, candlesticks etc. i.e. long and thin objects. Think about a baseball bat. It starts out as a long rectangle, and then is shaped on a lathe, and the long rectangle of wood is placed on the lathe with the grain pattern running parallel to the floor. Bowl turning on the other hand, GENERALLY, has the grain pattern running perpendicular to the floor. (this is not always the case).

Hopefully, I will have a nicely turned reproduction to show you soon! (or I will slink back to woodcraft to buy another blank and try again)

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

