Artisan on the roof

“If I were a rich man yahda yahda….” Well, you know the rest of the song, or at the least the verse (I hope). This is a topic that runs through my head whenever I am on my long walk to shul or anytime I am on a long drive.

The question is; what would I do if given a large amount of money? The kicker is that I have to use the funds toward my woodworking business, or for you, whatever your craft, art, trade may be. Me, of course I want a new, fully equipped workshop near my home.

“But what do you plan to do with that shop,” you ask? Here is my plan, I would like to have business making custom furniture with an Asian/Green & Greene style. I’d also like to have two people working with me. One person who specializes in finish work so the business could make money doing re-finishing jobs. And I would want another person, who was a cabinet-maker, that way we would have the bookshelf, kitchen cabinet market covered. And I would also like to have a section of the shop just for turning work. I’d like to do some production bowl work, and work on some more artsy turnings.

Of course, I will spend time apprenticing with my woodworking heroes and taking classes at RISD.

Ahhhhhh…. I certainly can make the time go by thinking about all the things I’d like in my shop. Sigh………..

When I can spend the millions on anything, I plan on getting a new pillowcase, a better minivan, a new ruler, and buy Donald Trump a better looking toupee.

How do you plan to spend money on your artistic dreams?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

