therefore I am….

Why do I stand out in the heat with my chainsaw knowing that my back will be bothering me the rest of the day? Why do I work in shop where I roast in the summer and freeze I the winter? Why do I spend hours daydreaming about what I want to make next in my shop? Why do I work so hard to buy more and more tools?

No one has a gun to my head, I don’t have to make furniture, turn bowls, draw, or blog about this for that matter. We won’t go the poor house if I stop. So why do I do this? I think it is part of me. It defines (part of) who I am. I know I would simply be miserable if I could not create or express myself through my art. Even when we are at the beach on vacation, I am always looking for materials or inspiration. I simply can’t help myself.

Conclusion: I craft, therefore I am.

Comments? Anyone else feel the same way?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Who or What Inspires you and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

