The end has come

The Ginkgo box is finished and ready for shipping. The finish for the box consists of two coats of shellac, four coats of spray lacquer, and a coat of carnauba wax.

As a quick review, the brown wood on the box is tulip wood and the sides are poplar. The marquetry top is composed of poplar, cherry, walnut, and yellow heart. The green wood is also poplar.

I hope you have enjoyed reading the about this project. Here is the completed box!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The end has come

  1. Hi Yaakov,

    May I ask how much you sold this box for? Shalom, John

    • yaakov says:

      Shalom Alachiem John,

      I made that box especially for my mother. I would have to look at my timesheet to see how much I would have charged for it. I’ll look it up if you want me too.

      kol tuv,

      yaakov….

Leave a Reply

