Ginkgo Marquetry Box

I am working on the final phase of a special box I am making for my mother. I completed the box part about a month ago, and now I am starting on the marquetry (the art of making pictures with wood) for the top of the box. The photo above is what I will attempt to make. It will be inlayed into the top of the box.

So why am I using this image? I have always been a fan of the Arts & Crafts furniture and crafts, and I especially like the pieces that have Ginkgo leaves on them. For months, I’ve been debating on making the Ginkgo part of my FbY “signature”  so this will be my first Ginkgo piece. When I get the chance, I want to experiment with making Ginkgo leaf inlays using positive and negative templates.  

So why am I telling you this? Because I decided that I would attempt to do daily entries about this project and its progress. Each day I will talk about the project and add pictures of my progress.

This photo shows the box and the different types of wood I will be using. The background will be Poplar. I will be using Poplar for the greens, Yellow Heart for the yellows, Walnut for the browns, and Holly for grey. The box itself is made of Tulip wood and poplar.

I’ll attempt to keep theses posts quick, informative, and humorous if possible.

Enjoy!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ginkgo Marquetry Box

  1. ann (mom) says:

    I love this genko design. I can’t wait to receive my very own Yaakov original. I also enjoy your blogs – they are informative and full of your dry sense of humor. Your entries also keep me closer to you, Maia and the four wonderful Bar Am children.

Leave a Reply

