As a custom furniture maker, one my favorite things is “pick-up day”.  I like seeing the smile on the customer’s face and having that feeling of satisfaction from a job well done. I also enjoy getting my shop cleared out and set up for the next job, and oh yes, the final paycheck. Cha-ching!

When I am on a long car drive, or a long walk, I like to think about all the things I would do when I win the lottery. After I figure out how to get that giant check into the car and into that ATM slot, I am going to by a megaphone. Then I will pull up in front of my old job building, get on top of the car, drop my pants and announce: “The following people can kiss my skinny (*&^$# goodbye! Starting with the A’s”……… Ahhhhh. I love that fantasy!

Waiting for final payment, is like holding a winning lottery number (Alas, a small dollar ticket, but a winner none the less), but I can’t help but day-dream about what I might buy for the shop next…. a new smoothing plane, a high end dovetail saw, odor eaters for my shoes…… ahhh the dreams of a woodworker.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

