Shaving logs (not in the good way either)

Today was definitely “one of those days.” First it took me nearly an hour to install a magnetic door catch, then a spider came down on the top of my head then jumped off and scared the crap out of me! And then couple of minutes later, another one crawled by! (BTW, they are both VERY dead now). I know they are Hashem’s little creatures, and they serve a wonderful purpose, but they are NOT ALLOWED in my shop!

They say bad luck comes in three’s, well I got my third today. Yesterday, I had two bowl blanks go south on me, then today, I lost an entire log! I put the whole log on the lathe and attempted to use the Ellesworth method of making a spherical hollow vessel (which I have done several times successfully). Once again, the spalted sugar maple log had a bit of punk to it, so I lost loads of material shaving that off. After I got it into the sphere shape, I was parting down the tendon, and the sphere decided it was ready to go into orbit and took flying trip across the shop. Launches are exciting things whether they be of the “rocket type” or the “flying bowl type”. The law of gravity did kick in, which I am very thankful for, because I never studied law. Then to make matters work, I lost the pin to my drive spur in a mountain of shaving from the log. Let me tell you, I now know what it is like to look for a needle in a haystack. (and I still have not found it. insert explicative here).

I’m an “odd number” fan. I only set the alarm on odd numbers, and get up on odd numbers. I feel there is something special about odd-numbered days. Well folks, this was an odd day, with odd events, so I decided I “oddah” get out the shop before something worse happened.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shaving logs (not in the good way either)

  1. delores says:

    think i would have left the shop after the spider leapt off my head ….. oooooooooo yuk!! here’s to better woodworking next go round

  2. alicia says:

    Arrg! That was a terrible pun.

Leave a Reply

