The lathe giveth and taketh away

Sometimes things don’t “turn out” the way you would like them.  In June, I got a load of different types of logs for bowl turning, but this summer heat has dried out and cracked up most of my stock. I used my chainsaw to prepare a bowl blank of mulberry and one of spalted sugar maple hoping all the hard work would pay off. Chainsaw work really wears me out. I have a truely crappy HomeLite chainsaw that was obviously built and designed by the lowest bidder. One day when the money ship comes in, I’ll get a good one! I’ve used a good saw before, and a it wasn’t nearly so hard on my back. Any hoo……. 

I mounted one of the blanks, spun it round and even, and found it to be cracked to the core. Rats! Mounted the spalted piece up (which looked promising), spun it, got it part of the way round, and found a large chunk of it was punky. Double rats!

Thankfully, earlier in the morning, I loaded up previously turned piece of green wood and came out with a nice little cherry hollow vessel. Oh well, as they say, “the lathe giveth and taketh away.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

