A little spark from DJ Marks

If you have been a regular to my blog, you know that my woodworking hero is David Marks. I was fortunate enough to be recruited to help him with his latest DVD, “Double Bevel Marquetry.” I was asked to help with the editing by Blair Glenn who did the video work. He would send me his edited footage for me to review, and I would offer advice about lighting, what was being said, and suggestions on music etc…. I was very happy to do this, and yesterday I received a copy of the DVD in the mail from David along with a nice little note that made my day.

You can click on the image to see the letter.

Click on the image to see the DVD

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you are interested in learning how to do marquetry, I highly recommend the DVD. David’s work is top-notch and he does a great job explaining the technique.

I really needed this to brighten my day. I am very proud to have been part of the project, and especially to do anything with my hero. What a treat!

I want to apologize for not writing, but my furniture business is flat broke. I don’t have any money to buy lumber for the spec projects I want to do, and I have been hardly selling anything. My last couple of shows did not even cover the cost of the event and all my potential commissions fell through. When will this global economic recession ever end! 2012 has really been a crappy year.

On a different note:

I was watching a couple of “Craft in America” episodes yesterday day and it made me think about something; (BTW, these are well worth watching) does my craft necessarily have to represent something I have to say, to be considered art? Granted, my utility bowls I don’t consider “art per se”, but I do consider my “Tiki” series and “Lost in the Woods” series art. They don’t necessarily reflect my feelings or something I am passionate about, so does that make it any less worthy to be called “art?” What are your thoughts about this?

yaakov…..

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop, On the topic of Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A little spark from DJ Marks

  1. I think art is the thing that speaks to an individual soul, so it varies by the soul. :)

  2. I believe this is one of the most vital info for me. And i’m happy reading your article. However want to statement on some general issues, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is truly nice : D. Just right task, cheers

  3. Sugel says:

    In this 90 minute DVD, David gives us every detail we would need to know to successfully create a marquetry image using the double-bevel technique. Since I did take the class in person, I can honestly say that the DVD holds nothing back. In-person classes can be great. But for folks who don’t have the budget, time, or desire, a DVD like this really fits the bill and has the added advantage of being re-watchable. So if you have ever felt your artistic side calling out to you, I highly recommend learning the marquetry technique which is essentially “painting with wood”.

Leave a Reply

