Another book for your library

Here’s another book for those of you who are big fans of Misters Greene and Greene.

I have a wish list of books that I keep updated and pass on to my in-laws, so whenever holiday times or birthdays roll around, they always know what to get me. This is a win-win situation. I always get what I want, and they know exactly what to get me. 

So before I begin my review, I’d like to share with you a little secret that I have picked up from books like this. People who live in Greene & Greene houses, usually collect books about the Greene’s and other Arts & Crafts books. Ergo, where better to find a great list of titles! Whenever they picture a bookshelf, I look closely to find the titles of the books, then hunt the books down via Amazon or Google. And this method has led me to some really good books on the topics I so enjoy. One day I should have a nice library of books on the Greene’s and the Arts & Crafts style.

“Greene & Greene Masterworks” by Bruce Smith and Alexander Vertioff, (1998) focuses solely on what they believe to be the best house designs of Charles and Henry Greene. Before they begin the chapters of the individual houses, they go through some of the elements of their trademark style. For example; materials, staircases, furnishings, art glass, etc…. Then you join them on a wonderful journey across California to see some truly remarkable homes.

The photos are glorious and I would find myself desperately trying to look further around corners and trying to imagine what it would be like to run my hands over that beautiful wood. The stories about each house are interesting, and left me wanting more. I wanted to know so much more about these homes, but I realize most of these homes have whole books written about them individually.

Finally, another little gold mine of information is the “Further Reading” section which lists a number of books and publications about Charles and Henry Greene and their works. It’s kind of like having a candy store at your disposal. Alas, you can have too much of a good thing, so I will resist temptation to put them all on my wish list.

I am still on my quest for books about John and Peter Hall and I have not had much luck in that department. Oh how I would love to learn more about these men who built those incredible designs from the Greene’s. If you happen to know of a book about these Hall brothers, please let me know.

If the Greene’s rock your world, checkout a copy of this book from the library, or buy one yourself. Enjoy!

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another book for your library

  1. Carole says:

    Great that you linked this in to Books You Loved., Have a nice week.

Leave a Reply

