Book review: Seven Days in the Art World

Some of you know that I run a business providing management services for Artist, and thus, I am a fan of art and the business of art. This is was the first book I read via a Kindle app on my iPad so it was a win win situation. I enjoyed the book and I enjoyed reading it in the eBook format.

The book, “Seven Days in the Art World” was written by Sarah Thornton and came out in 2008. The book explores different facets of the art world; auction houses, art fairs, dealers, consultants, the crit, and artists. I like the way the book was broken up into seven chapters that deal with these different facets. I especially enjoyed reading the first chapter about Christie’s Auction house. That was very interesting reading because this is a part of the art business that I really knew nothing about.

I’ve been to a lot of art museums and learned a lot about art in college and various other avenues along with small gallery shows. So I know about the small time art world, but this was my first glimpse into the Major Leagues of the Art World. I guess this part of the reason I really enjoyed watching that show on the Bravo Channel, “The Next Great Artist.” Some of the people in that show are spoken about in the book.

If you dream big about art, then you will most likely enjoy the read.

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Book review: Seven Days in the Art World

  1. Carole says:

    I was wondering whether you would be happy to put up a link in my monthly series called “Books You Love”. The idea is for people to link up posts about a book they loved. It could be an old fave. I am hoping we will end up with a nice collection of books that can go on our reading lists. Here is the link Books You Loved July Edition

Leave a Reply

