Where did 2011 go?

Where did the year go?! As it has been said, “the days are long but the years are short.” I can barely think of what I made this year aside from my Roubo workbench and my small contribution to the making of our five month old daughter. I know I made a number of items but it is all just a blur now. Alas, I need a flash drive for my brain.

So what about 2012? Good question. I feel like I have been floundering around with my artwork with no real direction, and I believe that part of the problem is due to my workload. Three businesses, a full time job, five young children, and a household to run has certainly taken its toll on me this year. I can’t keep the candle burning at both ends for another year, so I will most likely drop my book business for 2012.

So what do I want to do in 2012? With my turning, I would like to add more carving to my work, and with my furniture making, I am looking forward to improving my hand tool skills. I’d really like to make a Morris chair just for myself, and I’d like to design a bedroom suite around my Koi Hall Table.

Morris Chair

 

 

 

 

 

Goals are important. I have the type of personality which having something to work toward is important to me. If I don’t have anything in the works, I get depressed (really), so it is vital that I keep pushing myself.

So if I had to boil it down, here are my goals for 2012:

  • Make a Morris chair
  • Design a bedroom suite around my Koi Hall Table
  • Keep working on artistic turnings and suspended vessels
  • Keep reading more art books
  • Do more sketching
  • Learn more about power carving
  • Meeting even more people and do more networking  
  • Try to learn how to chill (attend WAA meetings – Work Alcoholics Anonymous)

 Have you thought about what your goals are for 2012? I’d like to know.

Side Notes:

The finale of the Bravo’s “The Next Great Artist” is tonight. I can’t wait! (One of my favorite TV shows)

At the “Off the Mall Craft Ball” sponsored by the Towson Arts Collective this past Sunday, a couple of teachers from MICA were really impressed with my “King of the Undersea Mountain” piece. That was the first piece they went for. How cool is that! Most people just look at it and wonder what the hell it is, but to have real live people look at it and like it really made my day. Sometimes a bit of validation can go a long way.

May you have a happy and successful 2012!

 yaakov….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Where did 2011 go?

  1. Andy Coates says:

    Hello Yaakov,

    I like your list, but fear i’d either lose mine, fail to tick off a single item, or else manage two or three which would almost be as bad.

    2012? only one thing really…try to earn more and work less. Seven days a week is killing me.

    I would like to do less of the jobs I only do to pay the bills and have more development time…and somebody to buy the results!

    I hope your 2012 works out perfectly for you.

    Best wishes

    Andy

  2. I love the chair. I love Morris chairs and other furniture of the arts & crafts period. In fact I am sitting in one right now, although I must admit that it was purchased and not hand-made. Would love to be able to fill my house with this furniture.

    So, in this and all your other 2012 endeavors, good luck!

  3. Someday I would like to have a furniture store studio in which I sell furniture and artwork as well as a working space.

Leave a Reply

