Chanukah Harry came to town!

Chanukah goodies arrived at the workshop today! I have been feeling a bit down lately, and I had some extra money in my Furniture by Yaakov bank account, so I purchased two new hand saws from Veritas (Lee Valley), and yours truly is really cool because I am now enrolled in “The Hand Tool School”.

 Education is really important with every endeavor, and when “The Hand Tool School” offered a Black Friday discount, I had to jump on it. After many years of power tool use, it is time to get a real education in the use of hand tools.

The Hand Tool School was created by Shannon Rogers (The Renaissance Woodworker). The following was taken from his website:

“This is the world’s first virtual apprentice program designed to teach woodworkers and aspiring woodworkers of all levels how to work  our favorite raw material using only sweat power!  The Hand Tool School is a new approach to the traditional apprenticeship system that has been in practice for hundreds of years.  While I am not about to tell anyone that they should not use power tools.  (hey its the 21st Century!) I believe that all woodworkers should know how to work by hand because sometimes there is no better way to do it.

 The Hand Tool School is structured much like a traditional brick and mortar woodworking school with a season of classes that will continue to grow over time.  As a subscriber you will have access to the entire library of courses at any time, so you can work at your own pace.

Our lessons are designed so that the student can follow along and practice the techniques being introduced.  With so many ways to work wood, we will examine multiple approaches.  The emphasis on smaller tool sets and fundamental techniques will permeate the entire school.”

Even though I have more and more working coming in, I will find the way to make the time to do all the lessons. I hope to pass these new skill sets down to my students too. And best of all, it is another excuse to buy more tools! I have seen the first couple of lessons and they are very well done. As soon as I get the chance, I’m going to make a pair of winding sticks with just hand tools!

The Goodies!

The UPS guy delivered two packages for me today! I received a Veritas 16tpi Small Crosscut Saw, and a Veritas Dovetail saw, and I also got a new set of sharpening stones from Lie Nielsen.

 I have a set of cheap hand saws that really needed replacing, and when a sale price appeared in the catalog to get the pair of saws for a discounted price, I could not resist acting upon it. Nothing cheers me up like a new tool! The cross-cut saw was a bit lighter than I expected to be, but it cut very nicely.

My new Dovetail Saw

For the past couple of years I have been sharpening and honing my chisels and planes by hand on diamond stones. So why not get the sharpening stones and jig that Lie-Nielsen recommends?!. I’ve never been able to achieve the level of sharpness with my chisels and planes as I have been able to get with my turning tools. Hope that will change soon!

I am really pleased that most of my wish list has been crossed off. Now I need to step back and look at reorganizing my shop when I can lift my head up for a breath of air.

Happy Holidays! Hope Hanukah Harry comes to visit you! (or that other guy :0)

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chanukah Harry came to town!

  1. Welcome aboard Yaakov. In case you missed it, I put up a supplemental lesson on sharpening chisels about a month ago. There is so much info already on the net to help with that topic but just in case you want another take. Glad to have you and enjoy the new tools!

Leave a Reply

