Ginkgo Box 9/14

Made a lot of progress on the marquetry part of the box last night and today, and I have enough dried glue on my fingertips to prove it.

A couple of years ago, I went to California to learn marquetry from David Marks, my woodworking hero. There are a number of methods to inlay a piece of wood, but marquetry is different from just plain inlay. Marquetry is used to make pictures out of wood kind of like a mosaic. Most inlay is in the form of banding, or striping etc…. The method I was taught is called “Double Bevel Marquetry.” Say that three times fast! In addition to the precise cutting of the wood, I use hot sand to char the edge of the wood. This gives the artwork more of a three-dimensional effect. Here is a picture of the marquetry so far:

You can see how the charring gives depth and separation. Now I have decide how I will add in the fine details. Should I use pyrography, (wood burning), or should I use a very fine sharpie? I will have to do some experimenting and see what might work best.

more to come….

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in In Yaakov's Workshop. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

