Staying in the lines

I really enjoy drawing, I will confess that like to draw along with the “you tube” speed drawing videos, but why do I draw so much better from a photo or along with a video?

I am not a great artist, but I can look at a photo and draw what I see. When I draw a picture of someone from a photo, you know who it is. I am really good at techical drawings and sketching out photo’s of furniture.  But once you put a real object in front of me, my skill level goes down, (unless it is pure technical drawing with rulers and T-squares) and it goes even lower when I draw something straight out of my head. During my beach trip, I did spend time practincing landscapes, and drawing objects, and I made alittle progress by “framing in my mind” a landscape and usings boxes for objects.

Is this common among artist?

About yaakov

Husband, Abba, Furniture Maker, Turner, Bookseller, and all around working stiff.
This entry was posted in Questions. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

